St Brendan Anglican Mission
Anglican Church in North America

Developing house church / mission 
in California's Santa Cruz Mountains

Serving San Lorenzo Valley (Felton, Scotts Valley, Boulder Creek, Bonny Doon, &c)
and Westside Santa Cruz 

The word “sacrament” is derived from a Latin word meaning “mystery” or “a sign of the sacred.” We recognize the seven Sacraments ordained of the One, Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic Church: Baptism and the Supper of the Lord - ministered with unfailing use of Christ’s words of institution, and of the elements ordained by Him – as well as Confirmation, Matrimony, Ordination, Reconciliation of a Penitent (or Confession), and Unction of the Sick. 



Every church has a basic pattern of worship—or liturgy. As we gather for worship, we follow a pattern that is rooted in the Book of Common Prayer and is based on ancient practices of Christian worship. We combine these ancient patterns with contributions to Christian worship from the history of the Church throughout the centuries. The liturgy includes standing, sitting, kneeling, and chanting. Every Sunday our worship weaves together prayer, singing, Scripture reading, a sermon, confessing our sin, affirming our faith, and a final prayer for God’s help to live as salt and light in our world.



Worship follows the historic Book of Common Prayer. The Book of Common Prayer is scriptural with approximately 85% of its content being taken directly from the Bible. It is also more than a sixteenth-century document. To compile this liturgical masterpiece Cranmer edited the medieval mass, itself rooted in the ancient liturgies of the Church of Ephesus (1st Century) and the Sarum Rite (10th century). The Book of Common Prayer is still the official prayer book of the Church of England and used by the majority of the 80 million member worldwide Anglican Communion. We worship in a truly common prayer tradition.